The History of The King’s Head, Roehampton

The King’s Head dates all the way back to 1485 when the pub was known as The Bull, making it the oldest secular building in Wandsworth Borough. It was then renamed The King’s Head in 1617, meaning the pub had been around for over 500 years before it was closed by the former owners in 2006

The pub then stood abandoned for 6 years with break-ins and other structural problems. Applications to turn it in to residential units were coming through to the council, but being a Grade II listed building, none were approved. However, in 2010, property developer St James, Youngs Pubs and Wandsworth council all worked together to restore the pub, and in 2012 it reopened it’s doors to the people of Roehampton

The King’s Head is one of Young’s oldest pubs, meaning that is handled with the utmost care. Our most recent refurbishment (2024) saw just a new lick of paint and a slight fix up to the garden, keeping it as close to it’s original form as we can. Tightly nestled between Richmond Park,  Putney Heath, university of Roehampton and the residents of Roehampton, meaning we serve a large mix of people, and we wouldn’t have it any other way!

Richmond Park

There are plenty of places to walk in Roehamtpon and the surrounding area, but Richmond Park is probably the most known. Take a stroll down to Richmond park and enjoy the royal park and the untouched landscape, see the deer, and end it off with a tasty Sunday roast at The King’s head.

Wimbledon and Putney Heath

Wild and untamed, dotted with plenty of forest walks and loads of dog walking enthusiasts. Start in Wimbledon village, and walk all the way across the heath where you will find yourself at The King’s head enjoying a meal and a refreshing beverage, the perfect way to end all great walks.